Good Luck

I read 33 books in 2012. Please note for the sake of my pride that this includes 8 books that were over 1000 pages.

Goal for 2013 is to read 40.

Right now I’m reading:

fall_of_giants_us_2010It’s amazing! Love Ken Follett’s books.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I made Hoppin’ John last night for New Year’s good luck. If you don’t know, Hoppin’ John is a dish made with black-eyed peas that is traditionally eaten in the South for good luck in the new year. I based mine off of two recipes: one from Woman’s Day magazine and one by Emeril Lagasse from foodnetwork.com. Hoppin’ John is made with black eyed peas, ham hock, collard greens, onions, etc. and served over rice. Instead of the ham hock, I served it with sausage. I wanted to add sautéed spinach, but I forgot. I did use sautéed celery, and totally eliminated the onion and garlic because those are the two foods I hate the most! To the black-eyed peas, I added salt, pepper, and cayenne. Once we served it up, we added Tabasco sauce. I had never made black-eyed peas before. Actually, I only tried them for the first time a few weeks ago in a frozen Amy’s meal. They are delicious and also very nutritious. One cup of black-eyed peas contains 20% of your daily value of iron, 11 g of protein, and 5 g of fiber.

Some other good luck New Year’s foods:

  • In many parts of Asia, people eat long noodles New Year’s. They are supposed to symbolize a long life.
  • In South America, they eat pork on New Year’s Day. Pigs are thought to be industrious, and this symbolizes ambition and prosperity.
  • In Italy, they eat lentils. Their coin-like appearance symbolizes wealth and prosperity.
  • A lot of areas eat sea food, which symbolizes abundance.

I am going to make it a tradition to make a good luck food every year on New Year’s Day.

I’m drinking my green smoothie right now! 1/4 avocado, 1/4-1/2 of a green apple,  2 cups spinach, filtered water, squeeze of lemon. My goal is to drink one at least 5/7 days a week. If I miss one of those days, I have to eat at least 2 cups of spinach in salad form or in other dishes.

What are you reading right now?

Do you have a New Year’s food tradition? *My parents always make seafood on New Year’s Eve.* And my dad made pork green chile yesterday.

4 thoughts on “Good Luck

  1. Hello there, fellow local blogger! I just saw your comment on my blog! I feel like we’re few and far between out here! Anyway, right now I’m read an old ARC of “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes. It’s decent. And 8 books over 1,000 pages- that’s intense. I read Underworld by Don Delillo this year and that was enough length for me. I saw that you’re reading Handmaid’s Tale this month- I love that book! I got it for Christmas because I read it in high school and didn’t have my own copy.

  2. I’m about to read the latest Ken Follett book about WW2, but I’m finishing the light “Confessions of a Shopaholic” which I did not expect to like, but I find myself giggling constantly all the way through.

Leave a Reply

