The Real Definition of Health

I had more energy today. I mopped the floors, picked everything up, cleaned two of our bathrooms, and totally cleaned our master bedroom, which was just an absolute mess, including vacuuming! It feels great! I hope I didn’t tire myself out too much. I also made shrimp fried rice for dinner. Something I really want to work on is keeping our house cleaner. It feels so nice.

I had an awesome green smoothie for breakfast. I use a Magic Bullet to make it (actually, I use the generic version of a Magic Bullet). Here’s my recipe:

  • ¼ of an avocado OR ½ a frozen banana
  • 1/2 an apple (Granny Smith)
  • 1.5-2 cups of spinach (as much as I can fit in there)
  • 2/3 cup of filtered water (or more depending on the consistency you want it, I like mine a little more liquid)

That’s it! Then I just blend until it’s all smooth. Like I said, I like mine more watery. I decided today that I like it a lot better with the frozen banana. I guess I got a little sick of avocado, but doing it that way gives it great texture and adds the healthy fat! I usually have 1-2 pieces of peanut butter toast with it. It’s a great way for me to pack in more fruits and vegetables since I know I wouldn’t eat all those individually every day.

green

I’ve been thinking a lot about how our society has a very skewed definition of health. Like we’ve forgotten the basic definition of it. Every “health” magazine you read can’t talk about the nutritional benefits of strawberries without somewhere mentioning in the small article how they also make you lose weight (or something like that, I know you can think of 1 million examples). It’s really starting to bother me. I’m not really talking about the “thin is in” thing. I’m just saying I wish when you said “I want to get healthy” or that a certain food is healthy, our minds didn’t jump to how that somehow equates to weight loss, but instead to what nutrients can be gained by eating certain foods. I keep saying that I am committed to eating healthier, and people look at me like I’m crazy because I am not overweight. It’s not about weight! You can be curvy and eat great and feel great. You can be on the leaner side and eat great and feel great. The opposite is true for both body types. You can be at a normal weight and eat terribly… and start to feel negative effects on your health because of it too!

I have just found that getting excited about the nutrients in food makes healthy eating fun. Instead of thinking, “Oh I shouldn’t/can’t eat that” about some sugary treat, I think about how much iron or magnesium or antioxidants a certain food is going to have in it and how awesome that is going to feel in my body. When I really think about it, I just don’t get why the words “healthy eating” make us automatically think about weight. How often when someone says they want to eat healthier do they really mean they want to lose weight? TOO often. Or at least that’s what we assume.

When I say I want to eat healthier, I really mean just that, pure and simple, I want to eat healthier. I want to focus on nutrients and fill my body with delicious, clean, nutrient-rich fuel.

I want my appetite back so I don’t have to try so hard to maintain my weight. Because I don’t want to lose weight. I just want to be healthy. Our society’s fixation with this makes it seem so wrong to gain weight even when you need to. Even when I’m not trying to avoid gaining weight (ie. not worrying about gaining weight), it just feels so weird to be okay with it, like that’s wrong, even though it’s not me telling myself it’s wrong. It’s just a foreign concept since it seems like everyone else is trying so hard to lose weight, or trying not to gain weight, or whatever. If you lose weight because of anxiety (hello, me), depression, the flu, diabetes, cancer, whatever, it seems like it’s rewarded even though you lost it because you are SICK or hurting. I know people that have gotten compliments on weight loss after they had pneumonia for two weeks. I think we should all just focus on our health. Let’s all remember what health really means, and how truly valuable it is.

Health is being able to DO things. Health is feeling vibrant, present and alive. Health is smiling and walking and swimming. Health is fully participating in life.

How do you define health?

One thought on “The Real Definition of Health

  1. My mom thinks about it that way – she tries to pack in as much of the good stuff as possible so she doesn’t have room for the less than good stuff. She’s in great shape, by the way. I try to imitate her but my kids are so picky I find myself letting things slide. I used to eat brown rice and tahini for breakfast when I was single.

Leave a Reply

