Invisible Illness Awareness Week September 10-16, 2012

I have an invisible illness – mononeuritis multiplex and a host of other symptoms (all with no known cause, which, in my opinion, makes it even MORE invisible). If you have neuropathy of any kind, let me know. I would love to talk to you.

I ask people just to keep in their minds when they are quick to judge that you can’t tell everything about someone’s health just by looking at them. I have had people make rude comments about me taking the elevator (“kids these days are so lazy” – I am also not a kid, I am 27 and was 25 at the time they said this), about sitting on the ground in a long line (one man tried to run me over with his cart at the supermarket), and many other things. I have had people just not understand. I get annoyed by people saying all the time, “How did you hurt your ankle?” –  to which I reply that I always walk like this, thanks so much. I hate the bus driver on the bus glaring at me when I flash my disabled bus pass, like I am conning the system or something. Yes, I can walk on and off the bus just fine. However, I cannot drive, and if I had to walk more than two blocks down the street, you would see me limping and grimacing in pain. I used to be guilty of making these judgments too. Once in a while I still do, even about things like elevators. Then I catch myself and think that I don’t know why someone is taking the elevator. I just ask everyone to be aware, and to know that most people with chronic illness are NOT lazy and are actually very, very brave. This goes for doctors too, have compassion! I will pray for all who have chronic illness this week, that they have peace in their hearts and know they are brave.

4 thoughts on “Invisible Illness Awareness Week September 10-16, 2012

  1. Bah, I really hate judgemental people. You never ever know anybody’s full story. So why do we go around judging each other? Mostly because I think it makes the judge feel better about their life which is sad. I just discovered this woman named Kandee Johnson and she does mainly makeup/hairstyle videos on youtube but she did this one about dealing with the negative people in your life (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5S6ghT25jsA&feature=BFa&list=UU9TreTE-iXwfwQl72DzDurA) and I kinda love it. I’m so sorry people keep giving you crap.

Leave a Reply

