Recommended Reading

Shanghai Girls by Lisa See

I loved this book! In a short review on the back, the Denver Post called it, “Compulsively readable.” I totally agree. I read it in two days. Totally addicting. I loved the sweeping historical research, the wonderful character development, and how it was easy to read. Shanghai Girls is about two sisters growing up in Shanghai, China in the 1930s. At this time Shanghai was called the “Paris of Asia”, a diverse, modern, international city. The story follows the sisters through their relationship and their difficult experiences: the Japanese invasion of China, escape to America, and the repercussions of the Chinese Communist takeover.

The sisters, Pearl and May, are always there for each other, but they also have their own sibling rivalry. One particular argument between them sparked a lot of thinking for me. It reminded me of my relationship with my own sister. Both of them have their respective points of view, they’re own perception of events. In this sense, neither of them was really right or wrong. Things just were.

Highly recommended. I gave it five stars on GoodReads.

Leave a Reply

