The Pacquiao Fight

Hey all. Last night B and I went to a friend of a friend’s house to watch the Pacquiao-Marquez boxing match. It was so much fun! I am a big boxing fan. My dad used to be a boxer and competed in some amateur Golden Gloves championship tournaments but he quit right before he met my mom. I still remember him hitting the punching bag and working out in our garage most of my childhood though. So he has been a lifelong boxing fan and I have followed it with him. Although I have heard a lot about him and have seen some clips, I had never really seen Manny Pacquiao fight so that was really awesome to watch. I really like him because he is so humble, but to tell you the truth I really thought Marquez won that fight. I was surprised when the judges announced Pacquiao as the winner. Manny Pacquiao is the national hero of the Philippines right now. B is half Filipino and this friend who’s house we were at is actually half Filipino too, so all of this guy’s family was there and they were going crazy. Forty Filipinos cheering in a small living room and eating tons of barbeque and Filipino food made for a great atmosphere.

Manny Pacquiao

Really restless tonight. 😦 That is tough to deal with. But I started my (re-)application for disability benefits tonight and that felt somewhat productive. This nurse told me recently that you  just have to keep appealing and that is the only way you ever get anywhere with that. So that’s what I am going to do. I think I have to re-do the whole thing because it has been more than 60 days since my previous denial but I will do so and then keep appealing after that. After seeing how hard it is for me to even volunteer two days a week (with the increase in pain and numbness —> thus physical limitations), I finally don’t feel guilty about applying and can see that it’s something I really need. That feels good (not to feel the guilt) but that realization also makes me feel incredibly sad.

Other things going on: working on the budget a lot and couponing wherever I can, cooking (oh, how I love planning my menus and cooking for B!), cleaning, working on wedding planning (all the save the dates are out, now I am calling and talking with different caterers), and dealing with my puppy.

I am doing so much better at not getting too stressed out by things, but little things still get to me once in awhile. Right now it’s moving in March. We want to rent a house instead of an apartment, but the main reason for moving is to find a cheaper house/apartment than the one we are in now. I just get so stressed out by moving. It’s just such a pain, but more than that, it costs SO much money even if you are just moving somewhere in the same town and so much stuff inevitably gets damaged. I just need to breathe through thoughts about that!

Overall, just trying to work hard and remind myself that I am safe and work on the things I can do to be even safer.

2 thoughts on “The Pacquiao Fight

  1. I think moving is a blast! Think of how much space you’ll have in a house… my heart beats fast just thinking about a yard of my own, haha. I agree that it can get a bit costly though. But with all of the cooking you’re planning you’ll save money by not eating out! Upside, right?! 🙂

  2. Moving is such a huge pain! But it is a great way to get rid of things and streamline. Also, in the end it’ll cause you less stress because you’ll be less worried about the rent.

    Cute dog!

Leave a Reply

