First Time Cooking Indian Food

My fiance’s mom is coming to visit us tomorrow evening, Wednesday, through Sunday morning. I am not as nervous about this as I was a few days ago. I actually think we will have a fine time. I think going over and over positive outcomes in your head is so powerful! It helps you go into things with a good attitude, which sets the tone. I kind of set up an itinerary and that makes me feel more comfortable too. Then after that I just need to focus on myself and be cheerful and then nothing after that is my fault! šŸ˜‰ Like I said though, just focusing on the good things going in will help the good things happen!

I made Indian food for the first time tonight. I made chicken biryani. I love the smell of garam masala! It turned out well. Next time I would definitely use basmati rice, but I only had regular this time. I am having so much fun cooking. I am really impressed with myself lately. I just tweak recipes or make stuff up off the top of my head and things have been turning out well. It’s so fun, even a challenge to grocery budget that gets me a little excited – making good things on a budget. It takes the stress away from having to actually budget in the first place when you can be proud of your resourcefulness in still cooking good and healthy meals!

photo from indian.food.com

My camera’s photos aren’t uploading on to the computer so I had to use this picture instead. There are several different types of ways to make biryani, so I chose the image on my Google search that looked the most like what I made, and this actually does. I actually ended up putting tomatoes in mine. I modified the recipe I got off of another site. Cooking is one thing that really heals my relationship with food.

Hope you all are having a good week. Wish me luck that I don’t get too stressed this weekend! šŸ˜‰

3 thoughts on “First Time Cooking Indian Food

  1. Good luck this weekend! I’ll send you all my positive vibes and you can send me your energy vibes… I’ll be in San Francisco babysitting my cousins who are 3 and 6, haha. I’ll need all the help I can get!

Leave a Reply

