Wedding Dresses Through the Years

I think about this a lot, how wedding dresses have evolved through the years. Wedding photos often look so dated! It’s kind of funny to imagine if we will look back and laugh on the wedding photos taken now or if they will still look good. For instance, I think some from the 1950’s, like Grace Kelly’s, don’t look ridiculous now, but those from the 80’s do (as does everything from the 80’s). Perhaps that is because some of those tea-length style dresses are en vogue again, and because Kate Middleton wore a Grace Kelly-esque dress. I don’t know. What do you think?

I got inspired to write this post based on this article about 100 Celebrity weddings. It had a lot of old pictures of Elizabeth Taylor, Grace Kelly, Rita Wilson & Tom Hanks, etc, as well as modern ones. I also liked this slideshow from Harper’s Bazaar of Iconic Royal Wedding Gowns.

Here are some examples:

1910’s

1920’s – this one from 1924; cap veils became popular at this time

1930’s – The beginning of Hollywood glamour. Dresses were made to give a long, slender appearance to brides. Dresses were made of more simple fabrics because of the great depression. First photo is the infamous Wallis Simpson and Prince Edward; second is a modern photo based on a vintage, 1930’s style of wedding dress. Love it!

1937 Wallis Simpson and Prince Edward

photo credit: ruffledblog.com

I don’t think I want that flowy/loose of a silhouette but I really want to find a cap-sleeve dress.

1940’s – The war years. Brides were still so modest. No strapless for them. Everybody still had church weddings.

photo credit: weddingdressgallery.com

1950’s – When my grandparents were married.

This looks like the tea-length (mid-calf) dress my grandmother wore

Grace Kelly at her wedding; she married Prince Rainier of Monaco in 1956

Jackie Kennedy at her wedding --- http://www.weddingdressesgallery.com

1960’s

1965 wedding --- from fashion-era.com

1970’s

1970 issue of Modern Bride

1980’s – My parents got married in 1983; this looks like what my mom wore. Yowza’s!

1990’s

Jerry and Jessica Seinfeld at their wedding in 1999...usatoday.com

And now? There are so many styles to choose from. That is a whole other post that I plan to write soon, focusing on my favorite styles. However, it seems like most brides nowadays wear some kind of strapless gown…example:

Lamar Odom and Khloe Kardashian-Odom

Hope you enjoyed this post! I certainly had fun researching and writing it!

5 thoughts on “Wedding Dresses Through the Years

  1. Love this post! I agree that most girls tend to go with strapless nowadays… I’m not that picky, as long as they’re not crazy poufy or glittery. I want to get married on a beach in white sundress though, so most people think I’m the crazy one, haha.

  2. Oh how I loved to look at wedding dress pictures. I feel like the story of HOW you find you dress is almost as important as the dress itself. Mine ended up being a second hand dress that we had remade my a vintage seamstress. SO fun.

  3. Gorgeous dresses…I actually love Jessica Seinfeld’s dress. My favorite dress ever was the one that Carolyn Bessette Kennedy (my style icon) wore. My dress was nothing like that because unfortunately for me I had to have my parent’s input into my dress to ensure it was “appropriate.” šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

