Weekend Doings

Most important news, B was able to download seasons 1 and 2 of The Only Way is Essex for me, so I can watch it now! Season 3 actually starts tomorrow night, but I think I will have to wait for that because the videos on ITV2’s website won’t work for US users. That’s okay. I have a lot to catch up on. Yay! I’m a dork. πŸ˜‰

Fun weekend with friends. On Thursday night we went to a couple bars in downtown LA. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that not all the bars down there were club-type of places with people in slutty outfits. Like we went to a tavern and a hole-in-the-wall dive bar that were like any bars you could find in any area of the country. It was fun. There were actually a lot more of these latter types of bars, Irish pubs and the like.

Then last night, we had a game night here, and played my favorite game Taboo! I had a lot of fun, but today I felt like crap even though I only had three drinks and didn’t even really feel drunk. This is why I have a two-drink limit rule that I am not going to go over again for quite some time. I just want to stay on track, meaning that outside physical influences (like feeling sick, drinking too much, being too hungry, being too tired) are triggers I don’t need. There are already emotional triggers out there and if you take care of these physical things then you have more stamina to deal with the emotional triggers.

Overall, I AM feeling a lot stronger though and gradually doing better with numbers. I feel healthier many days too.

7 thoughts on “Weekend Doings

  1. woo hoo!! i’ve had the same kind of revelation about drinking. it pulls out all my triggers and just sets me up. i like to wake up in the morning ready for the day- not ready to swallow a bottle of excedrin and crawl back into bed. i’m glad you’re feeling stronger and healthier! keep fighting!

  2. I love hole-in-the-wall bars. Especially if there’s an acoustic band playing. I feel like crap now too, but it’s because of food vs. drinks. So glad that your doing well. Keep on it. Taboo! Board games are fun πŸ˜‰

  3. I’m glad you are doing better! And yes, there are some decent places in LA where people aren’t scantily dressed…it’s just that they are far and few between. πŸ™‚

  4. I am so happy and proud of you for doing so much better! πŸ™‚ Talking about nice bars in downtown LA, have you ever been to the Varnish? It’s a little back room behind a pub that has this phohibition-era vibe, live piano music a couple of times a week and an amazing barman/owner that makes cocktails on the spot based on what you tell him. I think you would like it…

  5. Hahaha I love your description of the bars in LA! I was there a few years ago and my friend and I tried to go to all the bars they went to on “The Hills”… Area, Opera, Foxtail, Crown Bar, Les Deux, you name it. Let’s just say we paid more for one drink then we’d have paid for 3 at home!

Leave a Reply

