Books I Have Read Lately

During frustrating times lately (so thankful for so many things, but also so stick of being stuck at home all the time with nothing to do), I have escaped into my favorite past time: reading.

These are the books I have read lately…

  • The Help – I read it in a day and a half. It was really nice to escape in a story that had me reading and reading.
  • Catching Fire – This is the sequel to The Hunger Games… Not as good as the first book but I was excited to continue the story. The ending literally gave me shivers.
  • House on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet – I really liked this book. You all know I love learning about history. This book by James Ford is about a little boy and a little girl, one Chinese and one Japanese, who become friends despite the animosity between their respective immigrant groups, in Seattle during World War II. It was interesting to learn about the conflict between the Chinese-Americans and Japanese-Americans during this time, stemming from the war going on between Japan and China, among other things. The characters were amazing and I could really feel the emotions of the main character, Henry. I think the title is corny, but I would recommend the book. I like the message that it’s never too late for anything, especially that it’s never too late to find happiness for yourself.

You can see all my books on goodreads.com (let me know if you want to be friends, I need more friends and recommendations on there πŸ˜‰ ).

What have you read lately? When is your favorite time to read? Your favorite place? I love to read anywhere and everywhere, but especially outside in the afternoon, and at night in bed.

PS – I have created an e-mail address for this blog. You can reach me at peacebemeblog.gmail.com.

9 thoughts on “Books I Have Read Lately

  1. I get too antsy to just sit and read so I only do it when I’m treating myself to a bubble bath (pretty much everyday, haha). Right now I’m reading a book by Maeve Binchey because my Mom lent it to me… it’s not the kind of book I’d usually pick up (I like biographies and true life stories).

    Also, come to Canada!!! I live in BC and I’ve been to California like 3 times so you have no excuses πŸ™‚ If you come anywhere near me I’ll take you for a tour!

    • Thanks Laura! I will let you know if I ever make it up there. There is a chance we might move there for my fiance’s job in a few years, that would be exciting. πŸ™‚

  2. I love this topic πŸ™‚ I’m still reading the Help…I can’t get much time…or don’t “allow” it with the binging…

    Thank you for your reply to my question the other day with your past and being so honest…actually it’s eerily similar. I might email you soon as I have so thoughts.

  3. I could read anytime…any place…and usually anything! I just finished the most amazing book, “Still Missing.” It was really a work of art. It makes me upset that such superb books exist and don’t get the credit they deserve! I’m so glad I found it though. Next on my list? Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet. I can’t wait to read it.

  4. I love The Help – I read it last summer & I thought it was the perfect beach book. MY favorite place ever to read is on the beach, though on my bed comes in a close second. Sometimes though, reading in bed, especially in the middle of the day makes me feel guilty, so the beach it is.

Leave a Reply

