What is glamour?

Del Mar horse racing track!

Had a nice weekend there. SO refreshing! Today I went to the beach and put my toes in the water and it was so cold and felt so good. I just felt such an appreciation of the experience enter my body.

I want to feel this calm again right now.

Wow, that is the first time I have shown myself on this blog…ever. It took a lot for me to put that there. I can’t stop scrutinizing myself…so I am just going to hit ‘publish’.

Ralph also turned 4 months old on Thursday!

I was reading Glamour magazine yesterday and in some quote in it, it said, “Glamour is happiness” (I think they often have celebrities and people answer the question What is Glamour?). I disagree. Glamour is not just happiness. Glamour is bittersweet. It is those moments or days when you can see clearly all of the hard stuff in life and how it makes the beauty in life beautiful. “Ain’t no sunshine without the rain” kind of thing. When all of the sadness and happiness wells up in you at the same time, and you can see that the fight is worth it. And you go on into the evening just feeling those emotions and loving yourself because you are so strong.

Glamour to me is also coping well, not using negative coping behaviors, using my DBT skills to cope instead.

How do you define glamour?

3 thoughts on “What is glamour?

  1. You are a nut – you look carefree and beautiful in that photo!

    I like how you described glamour “ain’t no sunshine without the rain”… it reminded me of a quote I love: “life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain”. I think dancing in the rain is glamorous 🙂

    Also, I’ve never tried pistachio ice cream but I’m intrigued!

  2. Pingback: Goals for August | Peace Be Me

Leave a Reply

