Just to Talk

Today I just feel like talking.

I so often feel that I have to have a concrete topic for my posts, and then I just end up not writing anything. I do want to have some sort of focus, but this blog is also for me and today I just want to talk/write and just go with it.

First topic is about my just one thing a day thing. Yesterday I felt so overwhelmed, but today I am actually getting things done on my to-do list. I feel calmer today for some reason, so I am able to do those things, so that feels nice. But I am still just going with the one thing a day role (which is actually several things a day… I just make the short list and don’t think beyond that). So that’s going well.

What have I gotten done? Quite a few doctor things (made a primary care appointment, started figuring out how to transfer my records before I got cut off, and changed Ralph’s vet appointment for this Thursday); talked to the lady at the nursing school about how to start the disability accommodation process; and put in the load of laundry I needed to do.

Still need to: order my test scores to the nursing school, finished that records thing, make dinner, and perhaps make one more appointment.

I started the book “The Help” yesterday and I finished it today. A really good read; I plan on doing a review of it tomorrow.

I am right now watching one of my shows: “Real Housewives of New Jersey”. I LOVE DVR! So often to be able to record stuff.

It was encouraging to talk to the nursing school disability services office today. I am still kind of nervous about getting a doctor to tell them what accommodations I need, when the doctor is a completely new one, but I feel pretty supported her by the school. I can believe I could be starting at the end of August. It really hasn’t sunk in yet. It doesn’t feel real yet. But I am taking the steps to get there.

I have been having a flare-up with my neuritis symptoms in the last few days. It’s frustrating, but I’m trying to be patient with it. I can only swim for 15 min. today, but it still felt good.

We are going down to Mission Beach, San Diego again this weekend, this time with some friends. I have never taken friends down there before. But I got my dad’s approval. šŸ˜‰ I’m excited to go down to the beach, and we are going to my favorite racetrack in the world: Del Mar, where the surf meets the turf!

Geez, it feels good to blog today.

Do you like going to horse races/racing track? I love going, one of my favorite things!

9 thoughts on “Just to Talk

  1. Horse races/racing track… I am not a big horse fan but I think I’d like to watch them run! I watched some wagon races at the Calgary Stampede a few weeks ago and it was INTENSE! I am a fan of pretty much any spectator sport though – especially if drinks or snacks are involved!

  2. I’m always amazed that you have anxiety issues – because to me – you have a fiancee AND you travel SO MUCH!!! That right there is NOT what anxious people do Katie doll – so you are light years, light years, ahead of me – trust me šŸ˜‰

    I LOVE that you read a book in one day! I read 10 pages today and considered myself lucky. Oh boy. Loved it though – read “The Lost Girls” please!!

    • I am definitely going to check out Lost Girls, I love all of your recommendations.

      And 10 pages a day is awesome, just always finding time for any reading is something you deserve!

    • Oh I just wanted to add…I think my anxiety disorder is just totally genetic/brain chemistry. I have had a clinical generalized anxiety disorder and panic disorder since I was a little kid, even with all the good things in my life. I really need to keep a good perspective, but it’s like my own brain chemistry just defeats me a lot.

      • Yeah – I think that is my issue as well. I get different responses from Doctors’…but the last 7 years, it’s just something I can’t break…like no matter what there is always this cloud with me. Very sad.

        I am reading The Help now (based primarily from you!) I was going to pick up any other book, but was drawn to this one. And i am SOOOOO glad!!! I am only 50 pages in – but loving it so far. I love, love love the writing style – and am fascinated with Stockett’s writing ability. I wonder how long it took her to write it and to come up with such fantastic ideas….

      • I totally agree, ever since I started writing some short stories, I am fascinated by the creative process of writers (like how do they get from ‘here’ to ‘there’)…just an amazing story and such engaging characters! Glad you are liking it!!!

  3. I’ve never been to a horse race before but it sounds like so much fun. My in-laws went to the Kentucky Derby which still blows my mind!

    The Help was great but it took me much longer than 1 day. I think I missed something because everyone else I talk to LOVED the book while I thought it was…good. Looking forward to your review!

Leave a Reply

