I Want This: laying out the plan

I have done a lot of research on the PA program I want to apply to today. I like to actually print out the pages I need (with the info on application steps, pre-req’s, etc) so that I have it in front of me and can look at it to pump myself up and make a plan even on days when my arms will hurt browsing the internet. Beyond that, I always like to have a hard copy of things, regardless of my arms. I don’t know why; it’s just easier for me.

The good news is that my previous healthcare experience as a clincial laboratory technologist should fulfill their 2000 hrs. of paid healthcare requirement. Also, I only need two pre-requisites, and I can take them both by matriculation, so I can apply now. The CASPA application window opens on June 1st and is due by Nov. 1st.

So…I am determined to APPLY. I am determined to not fail at applying. That is the part I can do. It will take a lot of courage for me – asking for recommendations, setting up shadowing an actual PA, putting in some time and money to take two more classes. But I am determined to do that part. I really think that by the time I do clinicals (which wouldn’t be until Fall 2013 as I would start the program Fall 2012), that my ankles will be able to handle more walking. I am going to do it either way. I want this. I want to do it for myself and for my life. I want to start now.

So I layed out a plan today to accomplish my goal of applying. It feels good. I will start the CASPA application on June 1st! I am going to make some calls tomorrow to find out how to start shadowing. I am excited. I am really scared I won’t get in, but I refuse to live the rest of my life not getting in because I didn’t apply. I refuse to let “I didn’t even try” be the reason.

4 thoughts on “I Want This: laying out the plan

  1. How exciting! Having a plan is so motivational… I hope you are able to keep up the momentum and let it carry you for as long as it takes to complete your application! Best of luck!!

  2. The funny thing is that applying really can be so much more work than actually going to school. But I’m glad that you are committed to this! I think in the long run it’s going to make you so happy!!

Leave a Reply

