Looking at the bright side…

I need to do this more! Look at the bright side, see my blessings.

  • I am drowning in these bills, and more than that, the hours and hours of work it takes to make one inch of gain on these things….but at least I am not bored. I have SOMETHING to do. {This is hard because I want to feel like I accomplished something with it and going around and around with insurance companies doesn’t get me far with that…but if I REALLY think about it, I am a tiny step farther on the path of figuring things out.}
  • I want to appreciate Colorado when I am IN Colorado and California when I am IN California. And not think everything would be better if I am in the other place, or that everything is going to be terrible when I go to the other place. {I, myself, am the problem….not very comforting but true to some extent.}
  • I was thinking a little about this last night, but Elin’s comment really helped cement it…I am thankful that my mom is around to help me with these bills. She is in accounting, and while I am not an idiot, my forte’s are biology and history, not business. Also, I am timid and easily intimidated, and my mom is a nice lady, but she can be a mean ogre when it comes to insurance companies. 😉 I am going to deal with my student loan stuff myself, but she offered to take care of this last medical bill for me. I am going to sign paperwork so she can talk to the provider and insurance company on my behalf. It is SO nice of her, AND I know that she will get done in a week what it has taken me 6 months to accomplish.

I just keep thinking about how blessed I am to have so much support through all of this, both from my parents and from B. I am SO blessed to have them in my life.

I am going to work on meeting life half-way and continuing the fight against my anxiety. I had so many full-fledged panic attacks yesterday. I thought I was going to throw up. I hate them! I get so afraid of them and of losing control, which just makes them come on stronger.

This week is the last week of me seeing my therapist here in Colorado. Then I have to switch…again. But I am comforting myself with the fact that this is the last switch I will have to make for a long time. I found out that I can be on B’s insurance as a domestic partner, so I don’t have to worry about that anymore! And it will be the same giant HMO group as I have here so they can transfer all my records. That is such a relief to me. See, this is another blessing that is part of the BRIGHT SIDE that I can’t forget! So thankful.

I NEED to keep seeing these small blessings and being thankful for them. They are so amazing.

Summary of what this says:

Be nice

Think happy thoughts

Champion Silver Linings

Love all things (not just cute things like babies puppies and kittens)

And when you do love, love like they do in power ballads – reminds me of B, who loves power ballads

Remember that anything is possible

And whatever you do, always try to look on

the Bright Side.

Do you have anything that you are complaining about/stressed about that you realize actually alleviates a previous complaint? You know, like when you whine about being too busy and then you aren’t anymore, so you whine about having nothing to do? I am trying to work on this!

5 thoughts on “Looking at the bright side…

  1. Bright side, bright side, bright side! So important… I think you are so lucky to get to live in two of the most beautiful places in your country. I would give my left lung to live in California!!!

    Thank you so much for your sweet comments this morning. They turned a “bad” morning upside down and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate that! Here’s to a great day for both of us!!

  2. Yes, definitely keep in mind the support you have. I’ve been looking for work for six months, and always have to tell myself that I have really good family and friends who will support me and listen to me, no matter what.

  3. I do that all the time but I’m trying not too anymore and kinda live in the now and be happy.

    I especially hear you on the appreciate where you live thing now. I didnt like AZ too much when I lived there and now I am in NC but wish we had stuff we had in AZ.

  4. There is always a bright side, just sometimes we have to remind ourselves of it.. You reminded me of it today, thank you!! Great you have that ogre to help you by the way 😉
    I tend to think about what place I want to live in next rather than enjoy where I live now… working on that one too…

Leave a Reply

