Brief Book Review: The Paris Wife

I actually pre-ordered this book from Barnes and Noble before I had heard about it elsewhere because I read an excerpt from it in Good Housekeeping magazine and know I HAD to read it.

For those of you who don’t know, I am obsessed with the 1920’s and the biographies of the ex-pat writers in Paris and elsewhere at the time: Hemingway, Fitzgerald, etc. “Tender is the Night” is my favorite book. I am writing a novel set in the 1920’s but that is all I will say about that for now. 😉

I loved “The Paris Wife”. It is about Earnest Hemingway’s first wife, who moved to Paris with him before he became famous and was with him all through the struggling and frustrating beginning of his career. I thought the prose was beautiful and I learned so much about Hemingway. The way the author wrote really fit with how Hemingway himself wrote somehow, showing the glamour and tragedy at the same time. He was a very depressive individual, so focused, and often reminded me of myself, sadly…restless, never satisfied with himself. Hadley, his wife, was his rock and while he obviously ended up not being committed to her (he was married 4 times), he often referred to her as the love of his life.

I really recommend reading! I finished it in 4 days. I think it is an easy read, but also a very well-researched book with quality writing. Great combination in my opinion.

 

5 thoughts on “Brief Book Review: The Paris Wife

  1. I love books set in the 20s also! I actually like all books set in different periods of history, from ancient Rome to Medieval London to 20th century. And Hemingway is one of my favorite authors! I think I should give it a try in my next library visit 🙂

  2. I have heard really good things about this book – I think I read a review online somewhere. Good to know you liked it! I am adding it to my to-read list.

  3. Jenna on ELR reviewed this!! I love that your a ’20’s girl. I’m really not into the different eras…but maybe because I haven’t given it a shot? Will try…

Leave a Reply

