Taste Preferences & Food Variety

So I am trying to branch out the variety in my diet.

I like bland foods, except for lots of salt. I am a plain Jane when it comes to food. I don’t like spicy food. I used to think there was something kind of wrong with me. Then I realized I have several friends who are like this too. Now I preach to myself: it’s okay to have our own food preferences! Everyone should just eat what makes them feel the best mentally and physically.

That said, I eat a lot of the same things over and over…like pretty extremely. When I have been so sad and anxious this past year(s), I have sometimes just eaten whatever I could (like handfuls of tortilla chips for dinner). I feel like it’s better to eat something than nothing and if that is all I can stomach because I am so upset, that’s okay. But I want to try to focus on getting more and different nutrients in my body for my health, so my body can heal. I think when you focus on what nutrients you are getting in your food, it’s kind of fun!

This week, I am adding walnuts.

I already ate them yesterday and today. I love walnuts. So many good things in there: magnesium, Omega 3’s, copper, phosphorus, and manganese. Omega 3’s have been shown to improve depression levels. I have often found this to be true. So I am going to be eating more of these this week. I find them very satisfying.

Do you like walnuts?

7 thoughts on “Taste Preferences & Food Variety

  1. Well I don’t like spicy food either! Or Indian food. It creates some complications when going out for dinner, but as you said everybody should eat what they like! But I love walnuts! They are my favorite nuts. Or maybe hazelnuts are… Well, either way walnuts are amazing and so nutritious! 🙂

  2. Just wanted to say I hope I didn’t rub you the wrong way with the other comment on this topic. I don’t think I did, but I’m really paranoid…lol

    You are doing great by branching out and trying other things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

