Soy-Ginger Glazed Salmon

Still doing my challenges. Struggled this morning but turned it around. That is what is important, to not let the whole day fall away.

I was freaking out because I felt trapped here because my car is broken and because I knew I shoudn’t go swimming today anyway because the nerves in my arms are hurting a lot, but both those things made me feel trapped – SUCH a hard feeling for me – and it is hard for me to cope without the release of my swim.

But I made it in the afternoon with taking my medicine that I needed, looking at it as just a tool of many in my toolbox that I don’t use very often but that is appropriate on a non-swim day. And by telling myself, you can go tomorrow!

Tonight for dinner I made:

  • Soy-Ginger Glazed Salmon from 100 Best Gluten-free Recipes
  • Oven-roasted butternut squash with rosemary – cube squash, toss with olive oil, rosemary, a pinch of salt, and a pinch of black pepper; roast at 400* for 50 minutes; you may have to put aluminum foil on top if it starts to get too done on top

And I even ate it with my family. It was very enjoyable and I would recommend the recipe. I love eating delicious, healthy food that makes you feel good during AND afterward! I just like to think about all the nutrients I got: Omega-3’s, protein, Vitamin A, fiber, Vitamin C, and I am sure there are more!

Here is the recipe (with directions modified) from the book above:

  • 1/4 cup wheat-free tamari soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp. honey
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 4 (4-oz) salmon filets

Combine soy sauce, honey, vinegar, ginger, cayenne pepper, and black pepper. Add the salmon, flesh-side down, and marinate, refrigerated, for 2 hours.

Pre-heat the broiler. Place filets in baking dish skin-side down, and pour marinade over the top of them. Broil until a fork flakes the salmon, about 8-10 minutes. Fish should be just barely opaque.

The only thing I would do differently would be to bake the salmon instead of broil it (just because we used really thick salmon steaks that were hand-caught by my dad in Alaska).

not my picture...but it turned out very similar-looking!

 And one thing I did do right was NOT discarding the marinade (this was my modification to the directions). Just flip the salmon steaks over skin-side down and let it bake in the sauce and then spoon some more over when you are ready to eat it.

Rosemary is definitely one of my favorite herbs.

What are your favorite herbs?

7 thoughts on “Soy-Ginger Glazed Salmon

  1. Oh I looooove salmon, and I live honey/soy salmon even more! I think we discovered my husband has a mild allergy to salmon though. We thought it was the honey at first, but we cooked the salmon a different way another time without the honey and he felt the same…like his throat felt like it was closing a little. So I haven’t had salmon in a while and will probably only be getting it in restaurants…boo! Your recipe looks delicious though. I’ll keep it for a night he isn’t here!

  2. I used to eat salmon every day. Every day! And now I am all salmoned out, but seriously, that photo (even if it isn’t yours) makes me want to rethink my decision!

Leave a Reply

