Brief Book Review: TRUE NORTH

“True North” by Jim Harrison

Jim Harrison is one of my favorite authors. He writes about the West and also many of his books are set in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan where he grew up.

I grew up and still live in Colorado and inherited from my dad a love of Western history and Native American history. If you like Larry McMurtry or Cormac McCarthy, you will like Jim Harrison.

His most famous book is “Legends of the Fall”. His books are so poignant and there are so many amazing quotes in them.

“True North” is about a half Chippewa/half-Finn man who is dying of Lou Gehrig’s disease. My favorite quote from it is: “Moment by moment, it’s lilacs.” — meaning that if you take life moment by moment, there is always beauty and you safe yourself a lot of worrying.


5 thoughts on “Brief Book Review: TRUE NORTH

  1. Is the legend of the fall the same book that the movie with Anthony Hopkins and Brad Pitt was based on? I used to love this movie when I was younger, but never heard of the book…

  2. I had no idea that Legends of the Fall was based on a book (assuming the movie is the same thing as this author’s previous book). I am such a huge fan of that movie so I am sure I’d love this story as well.

    Thank you for the suggestion! I am always on the lookout for things to read.

Leave a Reply

