Reunion

Currently in Tennessee/Kentucky . I can’t believe my boyfriend’s deployment is over and that I got to sleep in his arms and wake up next to him this morning. He is so sweet and good to me and I am so excited to have him home, I can’t even believe it.

We are staying in a hotel so there’s a pool, yay! ๐Ÿ™‚ Even though its kind of small, I got in 20-25 minutes of laps this morning. Not sure exactly how long because I didn’t bring a watch in there but it was so nice. The water was warm too.

Yesterday was my first day here and I was so overwhelmed with so many emotions. Just overwhelmed. I didn’t even know what I was feeling anymore, just almost every emotion possible all coming on so strongly.

My only issue has been my big disappointment, almost anger, about my boyfriend’s mom here. I understand she wants to see her son, but she ended up booking her trip here for an entire week, leaving the same day as me! This is stressing out both him and myself. She just has no concept of what is going on. She wouldn’t even give us a few minutes of alone time yesterday when we got back to the hotel (after dragging us all around Nashville so she could sightsee first). We came into our room and within two minutes she was knocking on the door and proceeded to do thatย again for the whole hour before dinner. I just felt really disrespected, especially since she has already been here for several days and already got her alone time with him.

Thankfully my boyfriend is an assertive person or she would be so much more domineering. She already tries! He will at least tell her to give us time to ourselves!

I was just crying last night because it was really important to me to get some time with him. She didn’t even ask him if she could stay for a whole week. He called her and asked her to stay until Tues/Weds so I could stay with just him and me and she had already bought her ticket!

How do you deal with your future in-laws or in-laws? I sincerely like his mom and she is very nice, I am just no longer willing to deal with not being treated like an adult and her being so attached to him when we are 25-years old! I think I need to put my foot down somehow. My mom said “Who does that?!” when she heard about that. I appreciate my mom’s grasp on reality with relationships!

I am trying to make the best of things but I just feel so overwhelmed and sad about it. It was just important to me. I would have waited a whole week extra to come out here next weekend if I would have known that. Quality time is really important to both of us. I am considering even going home tomorrow or Wednesday. I don’t know what to do. I did enjoy getting to talk a little bit last night before we went to bed.

Maybe I will just look back on this as a funny and ridiculous story in a few years. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Like how my mom talks about my grandma (her mother-in-law) crashing her bachelorette party, getting drunk, and throwing up in my mom’s car! Haha, my mom was so mad at the time but now she laughs. My grandma is also ridiculous!

Anyway, overall, I am just so overjoyed that he is home and feel so safe with him and excited about the Spring and future.

Thanks for everyone’s well wishes!

4 thoughts on “Reunion

  1. I am blessed with fantastic in-laws but it is always tricky when it comes to a mother-son relationship. I think that your bf has to be the one to take the lead on this because you don’t want to have any bad blood with her in the future! Definitely let him deal with it and don’t let it put a damper on your time with him.

    Have a wonderful Sunday and a fabulous week!

  2. I am so happy for you being reunited with your boyfriend! ๐Ÿ™‚ And that he is supportive of you even when it comes to his mother! That’s a good man! I have more ridiculous mother-son examples that I care to remember. What they say about Greek, Italian, Mediterranean mothers? All true! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I am the worst person in the world to talk to about in-laws… so instead I will just wish you all the best!

    As for the job tips… it was the first time I really and truly “went after” a job. I cold called the General Manager when I heard they might be hiring and he agreed to email me the job postings when they were done… I applied as soon as I could and made sure to attach an amazing letter of reference. I sent a follow up note after the first interview and again after they called me to get my references to show they that I still reallllllllllllllllllllly wanted the job! Beyond that… it was mostly luck ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you have some luck soon!

Leave a Reply

