The Power of Positive Thinking

From The Power of Positive Thinking by Dr. Norman Vincent Peale:

Two (of the ten) rules to live by to build up your confidence and just do it:

  1. “Formulate and stamp indelibly on your mind a mental picture of yoursself succeeding. Never permit it to fade. Always picture success, no matter how badly things seem to be going at the moment.” — I wrote a private post last night about messing up. And this morning I woke up kind of scared. But I did this. I layed there and envisioned how the goal plan I have for tonight (and every night here) is going to take place. I played it over in my mind a few times. I am keeping in my mind the mental picture of this success and refusing to allow in any negative thoughts that doubt it. I am envisioning it over and over.
  2. “Whenever a negative thought concerning your personal powers comes to mind, deliberately voice a positive thought to cancel it out.” — Every time the fear returns, I squash it out with confident thoughts. I sit up straight and replay the scenario I want to happen and I will do it tonight!

I AM A GUEST HERE! THIS IS NOT MY HOME! I do not need to make myself at home. I need to and will take food when offered and ask to use things.

I will survive until tonight, even though I can’t go swimming til then. Then I will do my plan tonight. I am not hungry here, I think that happens when I travel. So I am annoyed I messed up last night because now I am extra not hungry today and it makes me nervous about the day. But i have a good plan to just eat dinner tonight, drink tea, and then go to bed when I get overwhelmed. I will actually just take it to calm down and if it makes me sleepy, I will go to bed. And if it just makes me relaxed, I will watch a movie and breathe. then when I wake up Weds morning i will actually smile because I am strong. I want that more than anything in the world. To be strong today and set up tomorrow to be a good day.

So I refuse to allow thoughts that I won’t do this. Because if I push out the thoughts, then I push the negative actions out.

One thought on “The Power of Positive Thinking

Leave a Reply

