Morning Anxiety – resources

Good morning – “If you have a panic disorder or another anxiety disorder, you may find mornings especially difficult. Many people with an anxiety disorder experience the start of each day with fear. Do you awaken filled with anxiety, feeling like you just want to curl up under the covers and not face the day ahead? If your answer is yes, then there are some things you can do to minimize your morning anxiety.”

Start Your Day with Positive Thoughts and Affirmations

“If you’ve been dealing with morning anxiety for some time, it’s possible that you have developed automatic negative thought patterns: your mind awakens, and without any conscious effort on your part, worried and anxious thoughts take center stage, leading to more anxiety. It takes practice, but you can change these negative thought patterns. First, identify the thoughts that need change, and then develop your own positive counter statements. For example:

You wake up and your first thoughts are:

I feel terrible.
How am I going to drive to work today?
I’ll never get through the day.
What’s wrong with me?

You can replace these negative thoughts with positive statements, such as:

Yes, I feel anxious this morning, but I have felt this way before and have been able to handle it.
If I have trouble with anxiety during the day, I can use relaxation techniques that will calm me down.
I am in control.
Anxiety is a normal human emotion, and it is my cue to relax.”

from: http://panicdisorder.about.com/od/livingwithpd/a/tipsmornanxiety.htm

Also, check out the parent article: http://panicdisorder.about.com/od/livingwithpd/u/pdcoping.htm

All the links are great.

I would like to feature many links from this parent article in the future. I know my anxiety is awful when I first wake up. The minute I open my eyes, I can’t breathe or think straight.

Thinking about how it will pass is really helpful to me. Thinking about how I have dealt with it before and that I CAN lessen it gives me the confidence to get out of bed. Thinking about what it IS helps. I am still terrified of the panic, but I am going to practice these things.

4 thoughts on “Morning Anxiety – resources

  1. Forgive me if this is something you’ve tried before but I just wanted to mention beginning your day with yoga?? It really works to calm me down in the morning, when I wake up in a bad mood. It doesn’t always cure my mood but my family is grateful for what they get. 🙂

    Hope that today is a good one for you!

    • I can’t do yoga, unfortunately, because of my nerve disease 😦 It causes pain in the weirdest ways. But I think I could incorporate breathing and the meditative principles of yoga into the morning, that would be good. It’s just a matter of getting my head to stop spinning long enough to remember that!

  2. Thank you so much for this post. One morning not too long ago, I actually woke up and had a panic attack. A panic attack! While still in bed!! It was awful. Mornings can be overwhelming, so this advice is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

