Coffee and uplifting your mood

Read this article today, trying to find a claim to support my statement above:

” COFFEE: A study from Brazil shows that people who drink coffee with milk every day are less likely to suffer from depression. Caffeine is probably the world’s most popular mood-enhancing drug. But it has its pros and cons. Coffee boosts your energy levels, makes you feel more alert, and can improve your memory. A single cup of coffee with milk in the morning can jumpstart your day. However, too much coffee can also wreck your disposition, cause heart palpitation and anxiety, and make it difficult for you to sleep. A cup or two a day is okay. Small doses of caffeine can improve your mood but too much coffee can be bad for your health.”

http://www.philstar.com/article.aspx?articleid=521848 by            Dr. Willie T. Ong, MD.

*I think this is true, especially the one or two cups part.

I rarely drink caffeine. I have enough of a restless/anxiety problem (plus nothing to do/unemployment) so it is not a good idea for me.

But in the morning, on a good day, I like my ritual of drinking either decaf coffee or half-caf (which is really like 1/3 caf for me). That tiny bit of caffeine really boosts my happiness a little bit in the morning and makes me excited to go swim.

My sister laughs at how little caffeine is really in there, since I really use a less-than-normal sized mug and make a cafe au lait with soy milk and then half (1/3 caf) coffee. Kind of ridiculous, huh? 😉

But yeah, I always put this in it:

Love my soy milk. I like the plain kind, or original. I don’t really understand the difference. My morning FM symptoms, except my stomach aches when I eat something with gluten or because of my anxiety, are entirely gone thanks to giving up dairy.

So I love coffee, but I also love tea. My boyfriend bought me a tea infusor (he is so good with the presents and flowers : ) ). I made real mint tea with it last night and it was so good. Reminded me of eating Moroccan food in the south of France when I went there with my sister.

Before adding water; then you add water and brew for 3 minutes.

  • My mom is driving me crazy lately. Just living here in general sometimes is. We just had a good talk though about weddings and current wedding trends. I think she is excited about me getting engaged soon. Maybe I will let her do more wedding planning with me than I thought. It will make her happy. She is not controlling about that stuff in any way (unlike my future mother-in-law), but she will just have fun being involved.
  • Going to go swim today.
  • My restlessness is unbearable. I pray that after Thailand I will be able to get this pharmacy tech job or volunteer 20 hours a week (ok, I KNOW I will do the second one).
  • Trying so hard to use DBT skills, but I just get depressed about the anxiety I deal with all the time, the physical symptoms, the panic attacks, how I have dealt with it my whole life and have a future where I always will to some extent. I am also trying to accept that food, whether not eating or eating, is not really the solution to this problem and I can’t look to it in every situation. I just have to bear it and stop thinking about that, take it out of the equation. My body will tell me when it needs food and then I just have to eat some (HARA HACHI!) and get over it. And otherwise, I just have to feel the anxiety and be proud I am feeling it at least.

Gratitude:

  1. I get to go to Thailand in 8 days! I cannot wait to see my man. I know I say this every day, but I haven’t been so excited about anything in a long, long time (except that I am more excited for when we can start our life together back here in Colorado when he gets home). His deployment is honestly the hardest extended thing I have ever been through.
  2. My sisters – it is a nice escape to watch trash TV together for all of us lately.
  3. Swimming
  4. Tea time

I should get the results of my gene test back next week.

Thank you everyone for your nice comments lately.

3 thoughts on “Coffee and uplifting your mood

  1. I am not a coffee drinker which is a good thing considering how hyper and high strung I am regularly. I do like decaf tea though and I think that enhances my mood! There is something about a hot drink that makes me feel better.

    I am so excited for your trip to Thailand! I hope the time flies by until you get to take your trip!

Leave a Reply

