Smoked Salmon, Spinach, Strong

Just had the most delicious salad involving:

  • Spinach
  • Black beans (1/3 of a can)
  • approx. 2 oz. smoked salmon (my dad recently went to alaska and brought back over 50 pounds of salmon and halibut that he caught himself – he has been smoking it and while he is still perfecting the technique, it’s pretty good!)
  • carrots
  • mushrooms
  • 1/4 of an avocado
  • Annie’s Lite Honey Mustard vinagrette

It was good, and I feel healthy and fresh now. I am proud of myself for eating earlier before I am shaky and starving. I often don’t feel real hunger, although I am getting better at it, but I when I start to feel really restless and have trouble concentrating, it means something to me. I am proud for eating when I started to get hungry and not making myself wait til it is later (which I do so I don’t have to deal with it for very long before I can go to bed).

No pic of the salad but when I get my own camera, I may start taking some food pictures. I actually don’t really like when people’s blogs have THAT many food pictures, but it is special sometimes. I like recipes too. However, frankly, I don’t have that great of an appetite that much and am not a great foodie, but I think it is good for me to get a little excited about food and about dishes I make. I think it is good for me to accept that that is okay!

Overall good day today, although it isn’t over yet. Evenings can get hard sometimes. I went to church, went swimming, went to my cousin’s football game (loved it – playing sports are my best memories from childhood – he is 9 years old), ran errands, came home and studied (and could actually concentrate on math for once), and here I am.

When I get anxious about the evenings, I write out a plan on a sticky note and put it on the front of my book (which I pretty much carry with my everywhere). I look at it when I get anxious about the time stretching before me. It looks something like this:

7-745 study

745 walk

8-830 study

830 shut brain off and read

900 can go to bed

When there are more hours covered, I will add in blocks that look like study, read, mini-walk, repeat. I give myself breaks of 30 minutes or so to read my novel. I sometimes constantly have to tell myself it is okay during those 30 minutes to relax and read…but that’s when I look at my list and see it is marked in. I do the same thing after “my shut off brain” time.

3 thoughts on “Smoked Salmon, Spinach, Strong

  1. Wow…maybe I need something like that. I really, really suck :(…I eat really, really late…right before bed, and typically go to bed close to midnight and get up like 5 or 6 hours later…anyways, I’d rather not think or talk about it. Like everything else, avoid it and continue to make the same mistakes.

    Anyways, sorry Girl – so proud and amazed by YOU.

    And, what book are you reading?!

  2. I don’t often feel hunger either so sometimes I have a horrible headache or start feeling dizzy before I realize I need to eat. Sounds ridiculous but I forget or just don’t bother to take the time. Laziness is a good friend of mine!

  3. That is great to read how you were able to eat BEFORE you were starving. That is something I am trying to work on. I typically miss all hunger cues until I am famished. Not good! I am trying to re-learn what hunger feels like.

    I am not really a foodie either. More often than not I don’t even think to take a picture of my food. But sometimes it can be fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

