Crave something more

I just read the following “yourhub” article about addiction:

http://hubpages.com/hub/Quitting-An-Addiction

Read the whole article! I think this can be applied to any bad habit. I often, often, often think of my bulimic behaviors as an addiction. A highlight from the article is this:

How to start:

“A. Acknowledge that you HAVE an addiction.

B. Be aware of the fact that it is HURTING you.

C. CRAVE a time in your future when you will no longer be addicted.

D. Develop this craving so that it is STRONGER than the cravings your addiction causes.”

These last two, C & D, I have been repeating in my head over and over this evening. I wrote them down. I put them as a backdrop on my desktop.

This is how I have been getting by, this advice here is something that already speaks to me. But I need to have that voice speaking louder. And this is such a concise way to say it.

Develop your CRAVING FOR A BETTER LIFE so that THAT craving becomes stronger than the addiction.

Without bulimic behaviors, I see strength, pride, confidence. I see my marriage, pharmacy career, children, house, dogs, home without the taint of this pain. I want that more than anything. I am willing to fight for that to my last dying breath right now.

The biggest challenges will be not going overboard when I get too hypoglycemic, and dealing with the panic attacks I have been getting in a more healthy way. I see those challenges. Really, I did good tonight. The first step is making tomorrow a good day. I have been off-track every day (minus one or two here and there) for the last two weeks.

THERE IS NO ALL-OR-NOTHING. CHANGE THE WAY YOU THINK ABOUT THE WORLD. THE MIDDLE WAY IS ALWAYS THE BEST WAY!

What could you use this advice for in your own life? What do you envision?

Leave a Reply

