Me and the dogs

My basset hound is really sick. He has been getting progressively worse all summer, and all of this really started last November. He is puking everyday, multiple times and in the last week got so lethargic my dad has to carry him outside to go to the bathroom. He won’t eat or hardly drink water. I took him to the vet on Saturday and they didn’t really know what is wrong with him. We took him that day because he was so lethargic and puking and he had blood coming out of his nose. They gave him antibiotics and sent him home because nothing could be seen on his X-rays.

I took him again to the vet today. He just won’t move and seems so sad. Now they are doing a barium test, where he ingests barium and it lights up the intestines so they can more clearly see blockages or ulcers. I just want to find something out. It’s kind of like my own nerve problems. I don’t care how bad it is, I just want to know!

Here is his "wingspan" as we call it. As you can see, this picture is pretty recent and he isn't looking very well.

I will see in a few hours if they find anything on the barium test and on his ultrasound. I really love his vet. Her name is Dr. Kathy and she is so nice. She gives me 1/2 off sometimes on X-rays and stuff because she knows I am poor, it is so nice of her.

Vet bills are so expensive. I would really recommend to get pet insurance right when you get a new dog. You can go through the ASPCA and its a good way to go. http://www.aspcapetinsurance.com/

Of course, I can’t get it now for my dog since it’s considered that he has a pre-existing condition. But there are different levels you can get for varying levels of care, from catastrophic (usually only about $30 a month) to everything included for some coverage.

Hope everyone is having a good week! I am trying to be so brave through so many things. I quit going to therapy which is ironically helping my confidence so much. That is something I will talk about more another time. I really have strong opinions on that though.

Mainly, my boyfriend is helping me set goals and stay strong. I am so thankful we get to talk so much, even though he has been travelling all over Afghanistan lately this summer, and things are getting a little crazy. I think God for our communication.

2 thoughts on “Me and the dogs

Leave a Reply

