Gluten-free Coconut Brownies

Tonight I decided to make gluten-free brownies.

Although I am an idiot an used butter instead of olive oil, so they aren’t really dairy-free. GAH! Too many things to remember! I will make these with olive oil next time and then post the recipe again.

I got frustrated the other day when I realized that you needed xanthan gum to bake most things with GF flour (realized right after I had left Whole Foods without it). So I found a few brownie recipes online that DIDN’T call for xanthan gum and put them all together to create this. I can’t believe one of my experiments worked for once!

Gluten-free Coconut Brownies (no need for xanthan gum)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter (or you could use 2/3 cup olive oil) – you could cut down slightly on either one of these and I’m sure it would still be good
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup granulated sugar – I used organic
  • 1 tsp GF vanilla extract
  • scant 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup gluten-free flour – I used Bob’s Red Mill GF all-purpose baking flour
  • 2/3 cup shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 350 and bake for 25 minutes. Very good!

I was very pleased with how the Red Mill GF all-purpose flour tasted and worked in this recipe. It is made out of a blend of flours from potatoes, sorghum, garbanzo beans, fava beans, and tapioca.

Yeah my photos always turn out blurry. Need that new camera like I said!

I have to say, cutting out dairy has been easy.  I will see how I feel tomorrow after eating the butter, but for the most part, it seems like small amounts of dairy IN things doesn’t affect me as much as eating cheese or drinking a glass of milk. This week I am making the full transition to gluten-free and it’s going to be really tough. It is so much more limiting and we don’t have all the supplies here yet. I’m sure once I figure it out, it won’t be that bad, but at first it is a hard transition. I did have a turkey sandwich on GF bread from Udi’s for dinner.

Doctor visit was an epic fail. As usual, I left in tears of frustration (kind of stormed out this time actually). She did confirm that my arm thing is more of a muscle problem than a nerve problem. But I already knew that and it was still a waste of $30. I am going to try icing tonight, heat in the morning, and then try to swim again.

I have a good new plan for my non-swim days. Allow myself to bike for 10 minutes, although it hurts a little bit, then just go jump in the pool and move around and just chill in there. When I get home, I shower and it feels like my normal routine so I don’t feel so ‘off’.  That is what I did today and it REALLY helped! Then I went on lots of little mini-walks around the school today too. If my arm hurts too much in the morning I will do this again.

8 thoughts on “Gluten-free Coconut Brownies

  1. Oh those look delicious! I bet they would be tasty with some soy icecream. 🙂 My boyfriend made a box of Ghirardelli double chocolate brownies the other night and I may or may not have devoured 3 or 4 of them in one sitting, haha. Next time I’ll show him this, he may even go for the GF since it has coconut.

  2. Hey girl! I don’t know if you saw, but you won my giveaway… again! If I didn’t know better I would like you had cheated the system! Kidding 🙂
    I send it out to you yesterday and they said it should be there by Thursday!

  3. Oh wow, those brownies look delicious! I have never used olive oil in baking… always canola oil. I don’t know what the difference is, though 🙂 My sister is gluten-intolerant. It was a hard transition for her at first, but now that she has found so many ideas and recipes, it is pretty easy for her. There are so many great resources out there for gluten-free recipes.

    I’m sorry your doctor’s appointment was so frustrating. I hate when I end up paying for something I already knew!

Leave a Reply

