Cooking anxiety and Pistachio-crusted Salmon

Last night I made pistachio-crusted salmon.

[Recipe adapted from “Colorado Classique” by the Junior League of Denver]

Pistachio-crusted Salmon

Serves 4-6 portions

Ingredients

  • 4-6 5 ounce salmon fillets, skin on, uniform in thickness
  • salt and pepper
  • 4 tablespoons dijon mustard
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 8 tablespoons honey
  • 1/3 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped pistachios
  • 2 teaspoons fresh cilantro
  1. Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Lightly season salmon with salt and pepper and place on a foil-lined pan, skin-side down.
  3. Mix mustard, butter, and honey together and brush on top of salmon. [This is where I altered the recipe—the actual recipe calls for half as much mustard, butter and honey, but the first time I made this, it was way too dry/not enough glaze. This time I doubled it and it was perfect.]
  4. Combine bread crumb mixture on top of fillets.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes until salmon is opaque in the center and begins to flake; do not overbake. [We used pretty thick cuts of salmon, but it took almost 25 minutes for the salmon to be even near done. I would recommend doing 15 and then keep checking; don’t be surprised if it takes longer.]
  6. Serve immediately

Actually ends up as a pretty healthy dish. Nutrition info in the cookbook if you need it. And most important, it’s DELICIOUS!

Also made

Edamame and Carrot Salad

 [adapted from an earlier cookbook by the Junior League of Denver: Colorado Colore]

Ingredients

  • 1  1/2 cups cooked shelled edamame beans
  • 3 large carrots, coursely grated
  • 2 Tbsp chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 Tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • [I added drizzled honey mixed in to taste]
  1. Toss the edamame, carrots, and cilantro in a bowl. Whisk the vinegar, lemon juice, and oil in a bowl (you could add 1 – 1 and a 1/2 Tbsp honey here if you want).
  2. Add the vinegrette to the bean mixture and toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Chill, covered, until serving time. You may prepare up to 3 hours in advance and store, covered, in the refridgerator.

Serves 6

My adaptations in italics, obviously.

All of the Junior League of Denver cookbooks are awesome. Go to http://www.jld.org and click on the cookbooks tab on the left if you want to check them out.

I got SO anxious cooking last night that I professed I will never cook for other people again. That probably won’t happen, but I keep doing that! It’s like I am so worried that it won’t turn out right that I get panic attacks sometimes. Everything DID turn out right but it almost wasn’t worth it!

Do you get anxious when you cook for people?

 

7 thoughts on “Cooking anxiety and Pistachio-crusted Salmon

  1. Katie,

    That sounds fantastic!!! My hubby and I make pistachio encrusted tilapia with a lavender honey sauce 🙂 It is from cooking light. If you loved this (salmon) you would love the tilapia!! I make it GF with crushed up Glutino crackers 🙂 Have a great day!

    ~Alyssa

    • I will remember Glutino crackers. I am feeling better since I am working on the GF thing. It is amazing me. I used Panko in this recipe though, it was all we had.

  2. I get STRESSED when I cook for guests… I end up spending half my time explaining why things are not quite as hot as they should be, or why the color of the broccoli is a little pale… it’s ridiculous because no one else notices, but it stresses me out… so I completely understand!

    Buuuuut your salmon looks DELISH! So no worries 🙂

  3. That looks great! I tend to get a little stressed when cooking for people, especially my family b/c my mom and sister are amazing cooks.

    I’m sure your meal was great!

  4. What a colorful meal…especially that salmon.

    I get anxious cooking for friends that know I have a food blog, because they assume I’m like a Top Chef or something.

  5. Pingback: Dinner for Myself | Peace Be Me

Leave a Reply

