Plans Plans Plans

I did so good this morning, swimming instead of coping negatively with my symptoms. I feel better. 🙂

I forgot to thank everyone for their nice comments yesterday. I appreciate so much every comment I receive. I get so excited about them. I also realized I comment on blogs a lot. I like to support people too, what can I say. 😉

Oh graduate school…my boyfriend and I had a really good talk last night. Okay so my background is in Biology. I have a B.S. in Biology with an emphasis in Biomedical Sciences. My work experience is in clinical laboratory diagnostics. I recently applied to a Master’s program in non-profit management, something totally out of my comfort zone. Basically, I just felt like I had to think about different career options (read: office work/business) due to my health problems. But I realized on Thursday that my heart wants (and always has) to stay in the medical field.

I have for years been interested in nursing, with the intention of achieving the master’s level and working as a nurse practitioner, or pharmacy school. I have decided that I don’t want to sacrifice these dreams for my health problems. I still have to make a final decision, but I am 99% sure I am going to let the non-profit program  know that I am not planning on starting it. And then apply to nursing school again. (I applied a year ago and got in to a school that I really wasn’t capable of attending at the time for physical and emotional reasons.) I am doing well enough now, so much better than last fall, that I feel like I could attend a nursing program with reasonable accomodations. If I remain limited in standing/walking, I will never be able to work in and ER or a hospital, but I could work as a nurse or nurse practitioner in a doctor’s office setting. I will really have to advocate for myself for accomodations but I can do it. Nursing is a great career path for me in the sense that I can go at my own pace with regards to continuing education. Since I already have a B.S., I can do an accelerated Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing program in one year.

So my plan is this:

  • Apply to the school I want to go to by the deadline of Sept. 1st.
  • Continue my dog rescue volunteer job (wish I got paid for that, I spend over 25 hours a week on it!) and wait for my disability application to be approved in the meantime. If I get disability, I want to work. I will just have access to some work-from-home jobs that I can do until I (hopefully) get better enough to drive again.
  • When I have an income, move out of my parents house this fall – I am thinking November or so.
  • Start nursing school May 2011. Finish May 2012
  • My boyfriend will be home from deployment January 2011. He will complete his active duty contract in May 2011 and move back to be with me in Colorado and start our life together. 🙂

Well, that is my plan. I wrote it all down step-by-step and pasted it to the wall in my “office” (my parents’ dining room table right now 🙂 ). Then whenever I feel worthless or anxious, I can look at it and tell myself, “I am not worthless. I am working on something. I have a plan.”

I just found out that there was a sad incident with one of my boyfriend’s soldiers tonight (they are roughly 12 hours ahead). I don’t know how much he would want me to say about it. Recently, he had another soldier that lost both of his feet and is now in a hospital in San Diego. I am constantly humbled by all of their bravery and by my boyfriend’s amazing strength and how he is still able to support me and never judge me. His deployment is such a hard experience in so many ways. I feel humbled right now and it makes me keep things in perspective.

I PROMISE a NOT depressing and much more interesting post tonight! 🙂

One thought on “Plans Plans Plans

  1. You are certainly not worthless! You are definitely working on many things. And you have a fantastic plan.

    Writing all these goals down is a great idea. One that I need to put into effect as I am sort of struggling with my career right now. Thank you for inspiring me to do the same.

    And I’m glad you found the book! Definitely check it out.

Leave a Reply

