Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day to my dad! I love my dad. I really admire both him and my favorite uncle. My dad has a great philosophy on life. He is laid-back but has a great work-ethic. All my life, he has worked so hard – mostly in construction, then as a private contractor, now as a hardware store owner – to support our family. He has three daughters and he gives us such unconditional love. He has always made me feel so smart and like I can do anything. He is a man of few words, a “man’s man” if you will – can always fix the toilet or a car, takes his vitamins with beer (yes, we all know this isn’t that healthy, but it’s funny), and hates anything where he is required to wear a tie. He always has such faith in me and believes in me so much. I am the oldest of three girls, and I have always loved bonding with my dad as the only one who loves sports like he does, or who will pay attention when he shows us how to change a tire!

My mom and I got our massages this afternoon, and they were wonderful. I didn’t really want to go, because I am kind of sick of “relaxing” – having had to lay around with my back hurt for the last two days – but once I got there, it really relieved a lot of the mental stress I feel today.

I feel weird right now. My family is eating dinner and I’m not yet, I am just sitting in here doing some work for my volunteer job. I am not hungry today and I feel nervous, mostly because my sister’s friend is here. Let me tell you something about my sister (the middle one). We couldn’t be more opposite in our personalities. I am shy, not very confident, a worrier. She is loud, self-assured, set in her ways. Her friend, R, is just like her! When they get together, it’s too much for me…

My youngest sister got me flowers today. She is only 19, 6 years younger than me, so it was really sweet. 🙂

I am getting back on track today so I can work on eating dinner with them. My sister won’t let me get away with this for long! She is confrontational to say the least, that’s why I am so nervous. Maybe it will be good for me in some way. To get back on track at my pace, but at the same time be forced to get on a more normal schedule.

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day

  1. First off, Happy Belated Birthday! Congrats on turning 25, it was a great year for me and I’m sure it will be for you too.

    You know whats funny? My older sister is the loud, obnoxious, stubborn one, while I as the middle child am the quiet and shy one. I am have no confidence either! Strange that our roles are reversed.

    • Thanks Ameena. You are so sweet! I am determined to make this a better year than last year. I think a lot of that is working on my attitude!

      Interesting about your sister! I am the oldest and everyone always thinks me middle sister is older than me. She has always bullied me, isn’t it supposed to be the other way around! 😉

Leave a Reply

