Busy Day

For once I had a pretty busy day! Let me tell you, I am unemployed AND can’t get out of my house much, so whenever people complain about how busy they are, I have no sympathy! 🙂 Just kidding, I have some sympathy, but I honestly usually have a jealous feeling arise when I hear that – because I get bored a lot and because I am not physically able to be as busy as I want to be!

Enough whining…I am so thankful for days like today that I am busy and productive and feel good. Still a lot of nerve pain (always) but stomach felt good, no dizziness, no foggy-headed feeling, no headache. I worked on volunteer stuff for my dog rescue for about seven hours today! – finding and organizing transports, e-mails, phone calls, mailing out tags, etc. It was awesome! We had 9 puppies come in and I wish I could have seen them! The golden retriever rescue I volunteer for (as the transportation volunteer supervisor/office do-anything person) is no-kill and has no real shelter; all the dogs are kept in foster homes until they are adopted. It is an amazing network of volunteers! I am so happy to be a part of it.

There was a slight afternoon lull where I felt the worthlessness settle in, but I pushed through by STAYING IN THE MOMENT and didn’t use negative coping skills. I am a big DBT fan!

My basset! (He wishes to remain anonymous right now 🙂 )

And the family golden:

Here are some of the other dogs I saved today (with lots of help from other volunteers!) 🙂

Annabelle and Macy! (Macy is in a cage because we saved her from a kill shelter and the pic was taken at the shelter.) Wish I had pictures of the puppies, but I don’t.

Let me tell ya something else: Goldens = smart, Bassets = not so much, but they sure make up for it with charming good looks!

I am also thankful today that my new primary care doctor is understanding of my severe anxiety and called me today for a phone appointment. We talked for thirty minutes and she helped me make a medication plan for now since Neurology refuses to see me anymore (long story, very upsetting, and, yes, I have an HMO).

I don’t know if I am ever going to be better and I don’t know what meds to take because I don’t want to mask the pain and make it worse. I have gotten to the point that I WILL take some meds, but I am wary of many (for multiple reasons).

Hope you are all having a great day! I made lemon poppyseed bread last night that I will take a picture of later, and tonight I made Gruyere and Prosciutto Baked Pasta but I really don’t feel like eating right now because I am so upset about this doctor fiasco still.

2 thoughts on “Busy Day

    • Well, if you ask my family and friends, I do not tend to be a very positive person! I am kind of a natural pessimist. But I think what has helped me the most is the DBT (Dialectical Behavioral Therapy) skills class I took in Sept/Oct after a sort-of mental breakdown. It really changed the way I thought about a lot of things, and the way I coped. I would recommend it to ANYONE!

Leave a Reply

