Mental Health

May is Mental Health Awareness month. When I think about mental health awareness, the main thing I want to see is that mental health get on par with physical health as far as coverage by insurance companies. We have come SO far with this since I was in high school; I can tell a huge difference. However, one thing that seems to be seriously lacking is coverage for eating disorder treatment. You can get extensively more coverage and resources for substance abuse. Why this is, I am not sure. Is it because eating disorder treatment is so expensive (I don’t see how it could be THAT much more than rehab for drug addiction to make up the difference)? Or because treatment isn’t considered to be very effective? I don’t know…

On a different subject, I went swimming today and it felt good, I am feeling pretty calm today, maybe because I put myself up on my Lexapro? Scary. I was only taking 5 mg since last August, which honestly did something for awhile even though it’s way under what is supposed to work for people, but I don’t think in the long run it would have (or hasn’t) given me any relief from my anxiety.

I am missing him always.

Leave a Reply

